Arrest of two Jamia Millia Islamia students evoke strong protests | The Background

Monday, November 29, 2021

Contact Us

Google Play

Breaking News

Arrest of two Jamia Millia Islamia students evoke strong protests

The Background

Amidst the global COVID-19 pandemic, the arrest of two Jamia Millia Islamia students Meeran Haider and Safoora Zargar by Delhi Police has kicked up a storm. Several online petitions have been filed demanding their release.

The scholars and activists’ statement against the Delhi Police action has been signed by the likes of Swaraj India president Yogendra Yadav, activists Umar Khalid, Anjali Bhardwaj, Kavita Krishnan and Medha Patkar, besides lawyer Teesta Setalvad, among others.

There is also a joint statement released now. The statement is given below-

We the undersigned would like to draw the attention of all compatriots who believe in democracy and secularism towards a very important issue. You are quite aware of the anti CAA movement. This was an historic movement in which Jamia students and community women had come forward in defence of their constitutional rights. This movement had a major impact and significance all through our country.

After the peaceful withdrawal of this movement in the wake of the global Corona Virus pandemic, the Delhi Police has begun a retaliatory revengeful action against those who were active in this movement. In this process the Delhi Police has arrested the media coordinator of the Joint Coordination Committee (JCC) for movement against CAA, Shrimati Safoora Zargar, and another active member Meeran Haider on trumped up charges relating to the North east Delhi riots and other baseless allegations. What is particularly worrying in this entire context is that Shrimati Safoora Zargar is pregnant and in this condition she requires proper care and medical supervision. This kind of action during the lockdown due to the Corona virus is a violation of their constitutional rights. We register our strong protest in this context and demand that the constitutional rights of the two arrested leaders, Shrimati Safoora Zargar, and Meeran Haider be respected and they be released forthwith.

  1.   President, Federation of Central Universities Teachers’ Associations FEDCUTA
  2.   President, Jawaharlal Nehru University Teachers’ Association JNUTA
  3.   Secretary, Jamia Teachers’ Association JTA
  4.   Jamia Teachers’ Solidarity Association JTSA
  5.   Prof. Nandita Narain. Former President DUTA and Federation of Central Universities Teachers’ Associations FEDCUTA
  6.   Progressive Democratic Student Union
  7.   President/Secretary, All India Democratic Women’s Association AIDWA
  8.   Annie Raja, General Secretary, National Federation of Indian Women NFIW
  9.   Rushda Siddiqui, Working President, National Federation of Indian Women NFIW, Delhi Unit
  10.   Justice Seekers Group
  11.   Poonam Kaushik, General Secretary, Pragatisheel Mahila Sangathan, Delhi
  12.   General Secretary, Indian Peoples’ Theatre Association IPTA
  13.   Safdar Hashmi Memorial Trust SAHMAT
  14.   Jan Natya Manch JANAM
  15.   Secretary, Nishant Natya Manch
  16.   General Secretary, All India Progressive Writers’ Association AIPWA
  17.   General Secretary, Janwadi Lekhak Sangh JLeS
  18.   General Secretary, Jan Sanskriti Manch JSM
  19.   General Secretary, Kendari Punjabi Lekhak Sabha (Regd)
  20.   President, People’s Union for Civil Liberties (PUCL), Delhi
  21.   President, Association for Rights, Punjab
  22.   People’s Union for Civil Liberties (PUCL), Rajasthan
  23.   Citizens Against Hate
  24.   Not In My Name Campaign
  25.   Karwan-e-Mohabbat
  26.   ANHAD
  27.   Dr Vikas Bajpai, Progressive Medicos and Scientists Forum PMSF
  28.   Dr. Soma KP, Researcher and Policy Analyst
  29.   Uma Chakravarti, Feminist Historian
  30.   Pamela Philipose, Journalist, New Delhi
  31.   Dr. Anjali Mehta, Ophthalmologist, N.D.
  32.   Shambhu Ghatak, Independent Researcher
  33.   Dr. Shaweta Anand, Researcher
  34.   Padmini Kumar, Activist, NOIDA
  35.   Sherna Dastur, Independent Activist
  36.   Vice President, Indian Society of Labour Economics
  37.   General Secretary, All India Union of Forest Working People
  38.   Kalyani Menon-Sen, Feminist Learning Partnerships
  39.   Dr. N. Indira Rani, Researcher & Activist
  40. Working Committee





Facebook Comments